Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[Help] Moving objects and the like
Kraggdog Offline
Member

Posts: 69
Threads: 12
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
#1
Question  [Help] Moving objects and the like

If someone can shine some light.. I would really appreciate it.

void AddPropForce(string& asName, float afX, float afY, float afZ, string& asCoordSystem);
void AddPropImpulse(string& asName, float afX, float afY, float afZ, string& asCoordSystem);
void AddBodyForce(string& asName, float afX, float afY, float afZ, string& asCoordSystem);
void AddBodyImpulse(string& asName, float afX, float afY, float afZ, string& asCoordSystem);

What is the difference between these?

I'd also like to know if it's possible to move static objects? (contradiction I know). Kinda like how you can animate a secret wall, is it possible to move areas / primitive planes etc?

A good example is the Justine DLC.. at the end with the walls that move? I'd like to know how to do that but with planes / areas.

Thanks

06-10-2011, 11:26 AM
Find
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Threads: 17
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
#2
RE: [Help] Moving objects and the like

Only entities can be moved or animated.
You can create entities from static objects.
The wall at the end of Justine is an entity.

(This post was last modified: 06-10-2011, 11:56 AM by Tanshaydar.)
06-10-2011, 11:56 AM
Website Find
Kraggdog Offline
Member

Posts: 69
Threads: 12
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
#3
RE: [Help] Moving objects and the like

(06-10-2011, 11:56 AM)Tanshaydar Wrote: Only entities can be moved or animated.
You can create entities from static objects.
The wall at the end of Justine is an entity.

A good start thanks Smile So how do I convert a static object into an entity? I haven't played with the model editor if it's there?

Can a plane be converted? As in the primitives used to create the ceiling..the floors...water etc.

(This post was last modified: 06-10-2011, 12:38 PM by Kraggdog.)
06-10-2011, 12:38 PM
Find
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Threads: 17
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
#4
RE: [Help] Moving objects and the like

A plane is not an object, so basically you have to make it into an object somehow.
There are static objects for water, in decal folder for static objects.

And yes, you have to use Model Editor for it. Use Import Mesh, import the dae file of the desired object and start to work on it. You can open other entities to see exact settings.

(This post was last modified: 06-10-2011, 01:06 PM by Tanshaydar.)
06-10-2011, 01:06 PM
Website Find
Kraggdog Offline
Member

Posts: 69
Threads: 12
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
#5
RE: [Help] Moving objects and the like

Ok thanks, will have to give this a go.

06-10-2011, 02:04 PM
Find
Kraggdog Offline
Member

Posts: 69
Threads: 12
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
#6
RE: [Help] Moving objects and the like

A black box is an entity so I take it that can be moved. Can lights be moved?

And with moving objects.. is it only just a force? so like.. if you wanted to move a box.. can you only apply a force to it like a push? or can you control it.. can you make it move slowly across a room like it was hovering or something?

I don't need this for my new custom story but its an example of what I do need Tongue

Thanks.

06-10-2011, 09:07 PM
Find
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Threads: 17
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
#7
RE: [Help] Moving objects and the like

Not all entities can be moved. They need some special settings. Like not being StaticObject entity. Looking into main game files might be helpful.

06-10-2011, 10:33 PM
Website Find
Acies Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,643
Threads: 60
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 73
#8
RE: [Help] Moving objects and the like

I don't think a light can be moved. Slowly moving other things is done through timers. A small force applied over a longer period of time. Hope you remember your phyiscs classes? Smile As for the plane being an object, 3d modeling is required.. I'm quite sure that you can't make a plane an entity. Good luck.

[Image: mZiYnxe.png]


06-11-2011, 04:07 AM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)