SLAMnesia
Member
Posts: 99
Threads: 39
Joined: May 2011
Reputation:
0
|
bug in my script!
heres my script:
AddUseItemCallback("", "shank1", "shanktegrunt", "ShankFunc", true);
void ShankFunc(string &in asItem, string &in asEntity)
{
SetEntityActive("shanktegrunt", false);
RemoveItem("shank1");
}
it doesnt error, it just doesnt work (its very basic I know) but is there some game error where you cant use the "ceremony_knife.ent" on a grunt? I want the player to shank the grunt with it and (for now) have the grunt disappear but he doesnt :\
|
|
06-22-2011, 08:58 PM |
|
Roenlond
Senior Member
Posts: 331
Threads: 3
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation:
0
|
RE: bug in my script!
ehm, where's your void OnStart()?
|
|
06-22-2011, 09:27 PM |
|
rojkish
Junior Member
Posts: 45
Threads: 0
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation:
0
|
RE: bug in my script!
(06-22-2011, 09:27 PM)Roenlond Wrote: ehm, where's your void OnStart()?
Probably he just simply left it out. Perhaps you could make an area as large as the grunt? iirc you can use items on areas
|
|
06-22-2011, 09:35 PM |
|
SLAMnesia
Member
Posts: 99
Threads: 39
Joined: May 2011
Reputation:
0
|
RE: bug in my script!
yeah, but how do i make the area stick to the grunt?
and i left out the void OnStart of course
|
|
06-22-2011, 11:58 PM |
|
rojkish
Junior Member
Posts: 45
Threads: 0
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation:
0
|
RE: bug in my script!
You can't. Perhaps you should remake the scene to something else, it sucks I know, done it several times. Just find another solution than stabbing him.
|
|
06-23-2011, 01:27 AM |
|
xiphirx
Senior Member
Posts: 662
Threads: 16
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation:
5
|
RE: bug in my script!
Put the callback in onStart if you want it to work...
|
|
06-23-2011, 03:17 AM |
|
Rownbear
Member
Posts: 157
Threads: 13
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation:
2
|
RE: bug in my script!
Try the
void FadeEnemyToSmoke(string& asName, bool abPlaySound);
Instantly fades an enemy to smoke.
if just deactivate doesnt work
void ShankFunc(string &in asItem, string &in asEntity)
{
FadeEnemyToSmoke("shankthegrunt", false);
RemoveItem("shank1");
}
(This post was last modified: 06-23-2011, 03:32 AM by Rownbear.)
|
|
06-23-2011, 03:31 AM |
|
rojkish
Junior Member
Posts: 45
Threads: 0
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation:
0
|
RE: bug in my script!
(06-23-2011, 03:31 AM)Rownbear Wrote: Try the
void FadeEnemyToSmoke(string& asName, bool abPlaySound);
Instantly fades an enemy to smoke.
if just deactivate doesnt work
void ShankFunc(string &in asItem, string &in asEntity)
{
FadeEnemyToSmoke("shankthegrunt", false);
RemoveItem("shank1");
}
Everything works out fine. Except the part where you use the dagger on the grunt, it doesn't work like that. So either he'll need another item, or perhaps a script area, or just rethink and do something new.
|
|
06-23-2011, 03:34 AM |
|
Rownbear
Member
Posts: 157
Threads: 13
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation:
2
|
RE: bug in my script!
(06-23-2011, 03:34 AM)rojkish Wrote: (06-23-2011, 03:31 AM)Rownbear Wrote: Try the
void FadeEnemyToSmoke(string& asName, bool abPlaySound);
Instantly fades an enemy to smoke.
if just deactivate doesnt work
void ShankFunc(string &in asItem, string &in asEntity)
{
FadeEnemyToSmoke("shankthegrunt", false);
RemoveItem("shank1");
}
Everything works out fine. Except the part where you use the dagger on the grunt, it doesn't work like that. So either he'll need another item, or perhaps a script area, or just rethink and do something new.
I played a custom story where I used the dagger on the grunt, and you "killed" it. So it's possible with the dagger entity.
|
|
06-23-2011, 08:49 PM |
|
rojkish
Junior Member
Posts: 45
Threads: 0
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation:
0
|
RE: bug in my script!
Quote:I played a custom story where I used the dagger on the grunt, and you "killed" it. So it's possible with the dagger entity.
Were the grunt standing still? In that case it seems pretty clear. Otherwise, could you perhaps link a script which works like that? It just seems weird since it didn't work out for me.
|
|
06-23-2011, 08:59 PM |
|
|