i3670
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,308
Threads: 74
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation:
36
|
Sound not playing (Read if you want to have different times on looping sounds)
The sound is simply not playing.
void OnStart()
{
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "EnterWindOnArea", "FuncWindy", true, 1);
}
void FuncWindy(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int alState)
{
if(asChild == "EnterWindOnArea") {
float fWind = RandFloat(0.5f,6.5f);
AddTimer("wind", 2.5f+fWind, "WindTimer");
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "EnterWindOffArea", "FuncWindy", true, 1);
} else {
RemoveTimer("wind");
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "EnterWindOnArea", "FuncWindy", true, 1);
}
}
void WindTimer(string &in asTimer)
{
int iWind = RandFloat(1, 7);
float fWind = RandFloat(4.5f,14.5f);
PlaySoundAtEntity("WindSound"+iWind, "general_wind_blow.snt", "WindSound_"+iWind, 0.0f, false);
AddTimer("wind", 5.5f+fWind, "WindTimer");
}
(This post was last modified: 05-22-2012, 06:38 PM by i3670.)
|
|
05-21-2012, 02:16 PM |
|
Stepper321
Senior Member
Posts: 263
Threads: 26
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation:
8
|
RE: Sound not playing
iWind? fWind? What the fuck is going on?
Signature to awesome to be displayed.
|
|
05-21-2012, 03:26 PM |
|
Putmalk
Senior Member
Posts: 290
Threads: 13
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation:
15
|
RE: Sound not playing
Hey i3670,
I like your script, it's a bit complicated (than what I'm used to seeing on here) but it seems like it does its job efficiently.
Did you name your areas "WindSound_1", "WindSound_2", etc.?
Are you sure your timer is sounding off properly?
What I would do is add the following lines of code inside your WindTimer function:
AddDebugMessage("Firing WindTimer function", false);
(after the variables are declared)
AddDebugMessage("Playing sound WindSound_"+iWind, false);
Tell me what the results are. Make sure debug messages are enabled for your profile!
(05-21-2012, 03:26 PM)Stepper321 Wrote: iWind? fWind? What the fuck is going on?
He's creating variables to randomize the time and area at which the sounds are played. "fWind" is a float, while "iWind" is an integer; floats are floating point numbers (decimals) while integers are 1, 2, 3, etc.
(This post was last modified: 05-21-2012, 03:46 PM by Putmalk.)
|
|
05-21-2012, 03:44 PM |
|
Datguy5
Senior Member
Posts: 629
Threads: 25
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation:
12
|
RE: Sound not playing
(05-21-2012, 03:44 PM)Putmalk Wrote: Hey i3670,
I like your script, it's a bit complicated (than what I'm used to seeing on here) but it seems like it does its job efficiently.
Did you name your areas "WindSound_1", "WindSound_2", etc.?
Are you sure your timer is sounding off properly?
What I would do is add the following lines of code inside your WindTimer function:
AddDebugMessage("Firing WindTimer function", false);
(after the variables are declared)
AddDebugMessage("Playing sound WindSound_"+iWind, false);
Tell me what the results are. Make sure debug messages are enabled for your profile!
(05-21-2012, 03:26 PM)Stepper321 Wrote: iWind? fWind? What the fuck is going on?
He's creating variables to randomize the time and area at which the sounds are played. "fWind" is a float, while "iWind" is an integer; floats are floating point numbers (decimals) while integers are 1, 2, 3, etc. A.K.A. Some pretty nice(and possibly)advanced scripting
|
|
05-21-2012, 03:48 PM |
|
Putmalk
Senior Member
Posts: 290
Threads: 13
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation:
15
|
RE: Sound not playing
(05-21-2012, 03:48 PM)Datguy5 Wrote: (05-21-2012, 03:44 PM)Putmalk Wrote: Hey i3670,
I like your script, it's a bit complicated (than what I'm used to seeing on here) but it seems like it does its job efficiently.
Did you name your areas "WindSound_1", "WindSound_2", etc.?
Are you sure your timer is sounding off properly?
What I would do is add the following lines of code inside your WindTimer function:
AddDebugMessage("Firing WindTimer function", false);
(after the variables are declared)
AddDebugMessage("Playing sound WindSound_"+iWind, false);
Tell me what the results are. Make sure debug messages are enabled for your profile!
(05-21-2012, 03:26 PM)Stepper321 Wrote: iWind? fWind? What the fuck is going on?
He's creating variables to randomize the time and area at which the sounds are played. "fWind" is a float, while "iWind" is an integer; floats are floating point numbers (decimals) while integers are 1, 2, 3, etc. A.K.A. Some pretty nice(and possibly)advanced scripting Yup, I'll be using that technique in my custom story at some point (when I start to script random events like wind blowing or voice hearing and other stuff). It's a pretty nifty skill to have.
|
|
05-21-2012, 03:52 PM |
|
i3670
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,308
Threads: 74
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation:
36
|
RE: Sound not playing
(05-21-2012, 03:44 PM)Putmalk Wrote: Hey i3670,
I like your script, it's a bit complicated (than what I'm used to seeing on here) but it seems like it does its job efficiently.
Did you name your areas "WindSound_1", "WindSound_2", etc.?
Are you sure your timer is sounding off properly?
What I would do is add the following lines of code inside your WindTimer function:
AddDebugMessage("Firing WindTimer function", false);
(after the variables are declared)
AddDebugMessage("Playing sound WindSound_"+iWind, false);
Tell me what the results are. Make sure debug messages are enabled for your profile!
(05-21-2012, 03:26 PM)Stepper321 Wrote: iWind? fWind? What the fuck is going on?
He's creating variables to randomize the time and area at which the sounds are played. "fWind" is a float, while "iWind" is an integer; floats are floating point numbers (decimals) while integers are 1, 2, 3, etc. Yes the areas where the sound is playing is WindSound_1 to WindSound_7
Don't have the debug messages active atm. Other than that, would there be any other reason to why it wouldn't sound?
|
|
05-21-2012, 04:11 PM |
|
Datguy5
Senior Member
Posts: 629
Threads: 25
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation:
12
|
RE: Sound not playing
(05-21-2012, 03:52 PM)Putmalk Wrote: (05-21-2012, 03:48 PM)Datguy5 Wrote: (05-21-2012, 03:44 PM)Putmalk Wrote: Hey i3670,
I like your script, it's a bit complicated (than what I'm used to seeing on here) but it seems like it does its job efficiently.
Did you name your areas "WindSound_1", "WindSound_2", etc.?
Are you sure your timer is sounding off properly?
What I would do is add the following lines of code inside your WindTimer function:
AddDebugMessage("Firing WindTimer function", false);
(after the variables are declared)
AddDebugMessage("Playing sound WindSound_"+iWind, false);
Tell me what the results are. Make sure debug messages are enabled for your profile!
(05-21-2012, 03:26 PM)Stepper321 Wrote: iWind? fWind? What the fuck is going on?
He's creating variables to randomize the time and area at which the sounds are played. "fWind" is a float, while "iWind" is an integer; floats are floating point numbers (decimals) while integers are 1, 2, 3, etc. A.K.A. Some pretty nice(and possibly)advanced scripting Yup, I'll be using that technique in my custom story at some point (when I start to script random events like wind blowing or voice hearing and other stuff). It's a pretty nifty skill to have.
Heres a one way to make random voice hearings and stuff like that.Just place insanity area in the level editor and when the player collides with it(no scripting needed)it will trigger a random insanity effect.I usually hear someone talking and i sometimes get cockroaches in my face too
(This post was last modified: 05-21-2012, 04:49 PM by Datguy5.)
|
|
05-21-2012, 04:48 PM |
|
Stepper321
Senior Member
Posts: 263
Threads: 26
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation:
8
|
RE: Sound not playing
(05-21-2012, 04:48 PM)Datguy5 Wrote: (05-21-2012, 03:52 PM)Putmalk Wrote: (05-21-2012, 03:48 PM)Datguy5 Wrote: (05-21-2012, 03:44 PM)Putmalk Wrote: Hey i3670,
I like your script, it's a bit complicated (than what I'm used to seeing on here) but it seems like it does its job efficiently.
Did you name your areas "WindSound_1", "WindSound_2", etc.?
Are you sure your timer is sounding off properly?
What I would do is add the following lines of code inside your WindTimer function:
AddDebugMessage("Firing WindTimer function", false);
(after the variables are declared)
AddDebugMessage("Playing sound WindSound_"+iWind, false);
Tell me what the results are. Make sure debug messages are enabled for your profile!
(05-21-2012, 03:26 PM)Stepper321 Wrote: iWind? fWind? What the fuck is going on?
He's creating variables to randomize the time and area at which the sounds are played. "fWind" is a float, while "iWind" is an integer; floats are floating point numbers (decimals) while integers are 1, 2, 3, etc. A.K.A. Some pretty nice(and possibly)advanced scripting Yup, I'll be using that technique in my custom story at some point (when I start to script random events like wind blowing or voice hearing and other stuff). It's a pretty nifty skill to have.
Heres a one way to make random voice hearings and stuff like that.Just place insanity area in the level editor and when the player collides with it(no scripting needed)it will trigger a random insanity effect.I usually hear someone talking and i sometimes get cockroaches in my face too I think he want's more customization.
Signature to awesome to be displayed.
|
|
05-21-2012, 06:24 PM |
|
i3670
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,308
Threads: 74
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation:
36
|
RE: Sound not playing
It's more controlled to script the events, than having a random insanity event occur.
|
|
05-21-2012, 06:58 PM |
|
i3670
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,308
Threads: 74
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation:
36
|
RE: Sound not playing
The source of the problem wasn't the script. The general_wind_blow sound was so low that I couldn't hear it. Thanks for helping anyways.
|
|
05-22-2012, 03:44 PM |
|
|