i3670
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,308
Threads: 74
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation:
36
|
Sound not playing (Read if you want to have different times on looping sounds)
The sound is simply not playing.
void OnStart()
{
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "EnterWindOnArea", "FuncWindy", true, 1);
}
void FuncWindy(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int alState)
{
if(asChild == "EnterWindOnArea") {
float fWind = RandFloat(0.5f,6.5f);
AddTimer("wind", 2.5f+fWind, "WindTimer");
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "EnterWindOffArea", "FuncWindy", true, 1);
} else {
RemoveTimer("wind");
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "EnterWindOnArea", "FuncWindy", true, 1);
}
}
void WindTimer(string &in asTimer)
{
int iWind = RandFloat(1, 7);
float fWind = RandFloat(4.5f,14.5f);
PlaySoundAtEntity("WindSound"+iWind, "general_wind_blow.snt", "WindSound_"+iWind, 0.0f, false);
AddTimer("wind", 5.5f+fWind, "WindTimer");
}
(This post was last modified: 05-22-2012, 06:38 PM by i3670.)
|
|
05-21-2012, 02:16 PM |
|
Stepper321
Senior Member
Posts: 263
Threads: 26
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation:
8
|
RE: Sound not playing
iWind? fWind? What the fuck is going on?
Signature to awesome to be displayed.
|
|
05-21-2012, 03:26 PM |
|
Putmalk
Senior Member
Posts: 290
Threads: 13
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation:
15
|
RE: Sound not playing
Hey i3670,
I like your script, it's a bit complicated (than what I'm used to seeing on here) but it seems like it does its job efficiently.
Did you name your areas "WindSound_1", "WindSound_2", etc.?
Are you sure your timer is sounding off properly?
What I would do is add the following lines of code inside your WindTimer function:
AddDebugMessage("Firing WindTimer function", false);
(after the variables are declared)
AddDebugMessage("Playing sound WindSound_"+iWind, false);
Tell me what the results are. Make sure debug messages are enabled for your profile!
(05-21-2012, 03:26 PM)Stepper321 Wrote: iWind? fWind? What the fuck is going on?
He's creating variables to randomize the time and area at which the sounds are played. "fWind" is a float, while "iWind" is an integer; floats are floating point numbers (decimals) while integers are 1, 2, 3, etc.
(This post was last modified: 05-21-2012, 03:46 PM by Putmalk.)
|
|
05-21-2012, 03:44 PM |
|
Datguy5
Senior Member
Posts: 629
Threads: 25
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation:
12
|
RE: Sound not playing
(05-21-2012, 03:44 PM)Putmalk Wrote: Hey i3670,
I like your script, it's a bit complicated (than what I'm used to seeing on here) but it seems like it does its job efficiently.
Did you name your areas "WindSound_1", "WindSound_2", etc.?
Are you sure your timer is sounding off properly?
What I would do is add the following lines of code inside your WindTimer function:
AddDebugMessage("Firing WindTimer function", false);
(after the variables are declared)
AddDebugMessage("Playing sound WindSound_"+iWind, false);
Tell me what the results are. Make sure debug messages are enabled for your profile!
(05-21-2012, 03:26 PM)Stepper321 Wrote: iWind? fWind? What the fuck is going on?
He's creating variables to randomize the time and area at which the sounds are played. "fWind" is a float, while "iWind" is an integer; floats are floating point numbers (decimals) while integers are 1, 2, 3, etc. A.K.A. Some pretty nice(and possibly)advanced scripting
|
|
05-21-2012, 03:48 PM |
|
Putmalk
Senior Member
Posts: 290
Threads: 13
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation:
15
|
RE: Sound not playing
(05-21-2012, 03:48 PM)Datguy5 Wrote: (05-21-2012, 03:44 PM)Putmalk Wrote: Hey i3670,
I like your script, it's a bit complicated (than what I'm used to seeing on here) but it seems like it does its job efficiently.
Did you name your areas "WindSound_1", "WindSound_2", etc.?
Are you sure your timer is sounding off properly?
What I would do is add the following lines of code inside your WindTimer function:
AddDebugMessage("Firing WindTimer function", false);
(after the variables are declared)
AddDebugMessage("Playing sound WindSound_"+iWind, false);
Tell me what the results are. Make sure debug messages are enabled for your profile!
(05-21-2012, 03:26 PM)Stepper321 Wrote: iWind? fWind? What the fuck is going on?
He's creating variables to randomize the time and area at which the sounds are played. "fWind" is a float, while "iWind" is an integer; floats are floating point numbers (decimals) while integers are 1, 2, 3, etc. A.K.A. Some pretty nice(and possibly)advanced scripting ![Big Grin Big Grin](https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/images/smilies/biggrin.gif) Yup, I'll be using that technique in my custom story at some point (when I start to script random events like wind blowing or voice hearing and other stuff). It's a pretty nifty skill to have.
|
|
05-21-2012, 03:52 PM |
|
i3670
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,308
Threads: 74
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation:
36
|
RE: Sound not playing
(05-21-2012, 03:44 PM)Putmalk Wrote: Hey i3670,
I like your script, it's a bit complicated (than what I'm used to seeing on here) but it seems like it does its job efficiently.
Did you name your areas "WindSound_1", "WindSound_2", etc.?
Are you sure your timer is sounding off properly?
What I would do is add the following lines of code inside your WindTimer function:
AddDebugMessage("Firing WindTimer function", false);
(after the variables are declared)
AddDebugMessage("Playing sound WindSound_"+iWind, false);
Tell me what the results are. Make sure debug messages are enabled for your profile!
(05-21-2012, 03:26 PM)Stepper321 Wrote: iWind? fWind? What the fuck is going on?
He's creating variables to randomize the time and area at which the sounds are played. "fWind" is a float, while "iWind" is an integer; floats are floating point numbers (decimals) while integers are 1, 2, 3, etc. Yes the areas where the sound is playing is WindSound_1 to WindSound_7
Don't have the debug messages active atm. Other than that, would there be any other reason to why it wouldn't sound?
|
|
05-21-2012, 04:11 PM |
|
Datguy5
Senior Member
Posts: 629
Threads: 25
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation:
12
|
RE: Sound not playing
(05-21-2012, 03:52 PM)Putmalk Wrote: (05-21-2012, 03:48 PM)Datguy5 Wrote: (05-21-2012, 03:44 PM)Putmalk Wrote: Hey i3670,
I like your script, it's a bit complicated (than what I'm used to seeing on here) but it seems like it does its job efficiently.
Did you name your areas "WindSound_1", "WindSound_2", etc.?
Are you sure your timer is sounding off properly?
What I would do is add the following lines of code inside your WindTimer function:
AddDebugMessage("Firing WindTimer function", false);
(after the variables are declared)
AddDebugMessage("Playing sound WindSound_"+iWind, false);
Tell me what the results are. Make sure debug messages are enabled for your profile!
(05-21-2012, 03:26 PM)Stepper321 Wrote: iWind? fWind? What the fuck is going on?
He's creating variables to randomize the time and area at which the sounds are played. "fWind" is a float, while "iWind" is an integer; floats are floating point numbers (decimals) while integers are 1, 2, 3, etc. A.K.A. Some pretty nice(and possibly)advanced scripting ![Big Grin Big Grin](https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/images/smilies/biggrin.gif) Yup, I'll be using that technique in my custom story at some point (when I start to script random events like wind blowing or voice hearing and other stuff). It's a pretty nifty skill to have.
Heres a one way to make random voice hearings and stuff like that.Just place insanity area in the level editor and when the player collides with it(no scripting needed)it will trigger a random insanity effect.I usually hear someone talking and i sometimes get cockroaches in my face too
(This post was last modified: 05-21-2012, 04:49 PM by Datguy5.)
|
|
05-21-2012, 04:48 PM |
|
Stepper321
Senior Member
Posts: 263
Threads: 26
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation:
8
|
RE: Sound not playing
(05-21-2012, 04:48 PM)Datguy5 Wrote: (05-21-2012, 03:52 PM)Putmalk Wrote: (05-21-2012, 03:48 PM)Datguy5 Wrote: (05-21-2012, 03:44 PM)Putmalk Wrote: Hey i3670,
I like your script, it's a bit complicated (than what I'm used to seeing on here) but it seems like it does its job efficiently.
Did you name your areas "WindSound_1", "WindSound_2", etc.?
Are you sure your timer is sounding off properly?
What I would do is add the following lines of code inside your WindTimer function:
AddDebugMessage("Firing WindTimer function", false);
(after the variables are declared)
AddDebugMessage("Playing sound WindSound_"+iWind, false);
Tell me what the results are. Make sure debug messages are enabled for your profile!
(05-21-2012, 03:26 PM)Stepper321 Wrote: iWind? fWind? What the fuck is going on?
He's creating variables to randomize the time and area at which the sounds are played. "fWind" is a float, while "iWind" is an integer; floats are floating point numbers (decimals) while integers are 1, 2, 3, etc. A.K.A. Some pretty nice(and possibly)advanced scripting ![Big Grin Big Grin](https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/images/smilies/biggrin.gif) Yup, I'll be using that technique in my custom story at some point (when I start to script random events like wind blowing or voice hearing and other stuff). It's a pretty nifty skill to have.
Heres a one way to make random voice hearings and stuff like that.Just place insanity area in the level editor and when the player collides with it(no scripting needed)it will trigger a random insanity effect.I usually hear someone talking and i sometimes get cockroaches in my face too ![Big Grin Big Grin](https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/images/smilies/biggrin.gif) I think he want's more customization.
Signature to awesome to be displayed.
|
|
05-21-2012, 06:24 PM |
|
i3670
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,308
Threads: 74
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation:
36
|
RE: Sound not playing
It's more controlled to script the events, than having a random insanity event occur.
|
|
05-21-2012, 06:58 PM |
|
i3670
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,308
Threads: 74
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation:
36
|
RE: Sound not playing
The source of the problem wasn't the script. The general_wind_blow sound was so low that I couldn't hear it. Thanks for helping anyways.
|
|
05-22-2012, 03:44 PM |
|
|