Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Move from Linux -> Windows
atrocity Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
#1
Solved: 6 Years, 6 Months, 3 Weeks ago Move from Linux -> Windows

Hey all, I have a quick question for you. I bought the series like a year and a half ago for Linux. I moved to Windows and want to beat all three before I play Amnesia. Now, my issue:
1. I installed the Linux version in a linux virtual machine and copied the install files down.
2. I downloaded the .exe files from (http://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/ann...ent-4.html) and moved them to where the 3 binaries were.
3. I tried Overture. Worked perfectly. I tried the other two and they failed miserably.

I'm running Win7 64-bit. I tried them in Winxp compatability mode. Didn't help the other two. Like the 2nd game starts, tutorial works, but then dies right as I try to actually play the game (right after Loading...).

Any ideas?

I'm thinking maybe the directory structure is messed up maybe? Also, I didn't have a REDIST folder, so I put the .dll package right where the .exe's were so the exe files could hit them, and the games run. But, like I said, it crashes right after that. Sad
09-19-2011, 07:31 PM
Find
Your Computer Offline
SCAN ME!

Posts: 3,456
Threads: 32
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 235
#2
Solved: 6 Years, 6 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Move from Linux -> Windows

I'm a bit amazed Overture worked using your method.

BTW, if you purchased the game from the Frictional Games store, you should have the option to download the Windows version.

Tutorials: From Noob to Pro
09-19-2011, 07:47 PM
Website Find
atrocity Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
#3
Solved: 6 Years, 6 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Move from Linux -> Windows

Well, that's the method jens told me to use when I e-mailed support@. Tongue And the game is showing up on my shelf as Linux only (I bought it when it was on a weekend sale). Any other ideas? Tongue
(09-19-2011, 07:47 PM)Your Computer Wrote: I'm a bit amazed Overture worked using your method.

BTW, if you purchased the game from the Frictional Games store, you should have the option to download the Windows version.

09-19-2011, 07:55 PM
Find
atrocity Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
#4
Solved: 6 Years, 6 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Move from Linux -> Windows

Guessing I just need to buy the Windows version?
(09-19-2011, 07:55 PM)atrocity Wrote: Well, that's the method jens told me to use when I e-mailed support@. Tongue And the game is showing up on my shelf as Linux only (I bought it when it was on a weekend sale). Any other ideas? Tongue
(09-19-2011, 07:47 PM)Your Computer Wrote: I'm a bit amazed Overture worked using your method.

BTW, if you purchased the game from the Frictional Games store, you should have the option to download the Windows version.

09-20-2011, 09:57 PM
Find
Your Computer Offline
SCAN ME!

Posts: 3,456
Threads: 32
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 235
#5
Solved: 6 Years, 6 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Move from Linux -> Windows

(09-20-2011, 09:57 PM)atrocity Wrote: Guessing I just need to buy the Windows version?

I just checked my shelf and i am given the option to download for each supported platform for the Penumbra collection.

Tutorials: From Noob to Pro
09-21-2011, 01:40 AM
Website Find
atrocity Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
#6
Solved: 6 Years, 6 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Move from Linux -> Windows

This is what I see:
[Image: z8QFs.png]
09-22-2011, 06:58 PM
Find
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Threads: 17
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
#7
Solved: 6 Years, 6 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Move from Linux -> Windows

Black Plague and Requiem file structure is like this:

.png   Untitled.png (Size: 31.59 KB / Downloads: 95)


09-22-2011, 07:58 PM
Website Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)