Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Door won't display message!
Imevil23 Offline
Member

Posts: 83
Threads: 23
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
#1
Door won't display message!

I've been trying to fix this issue for a good half-hour now. I've just started trying to make a CS and I have forgotten almost everything. I've been looking on the wiki and followed the instructions exactly, but things aren't working out.

Here's the script:

void door(string &in entity)
{
if(GetSwingDoorLocked("Door1") == true)
{
SetMessage("Doors", "locked", 0);
}
}

And the entry and category in the .lang file:

<LANGUAGE>
<CATEGORY Name=“Doors”>
<Entry Name=“locked”>The door appears to be locked.</Entry>
</CATEGORY>
</LANGUAGE>

I've tried a lot, but nothing is working at all. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

(This post was last modified: 08-07-2013, 01:04 AM by Imevil23.)
07-29-2013, 08:29 PM
Find
The chaser Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 2,486
Threads: 76
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 113
#2
RE: Door won't display message!

void door(string &in asEntity)
{
if(GetSwingDoorLocked("Door1") == true)
{
SetMessage("Messages", "locked", 0);
}
}

<LANGUAGE>
<CATEGORY Name=“Messages”>
<Entry Name=“locked”>The door appears to be locked.</Entry>
</CATEGORY>
</LANGUAGE>


There, fixed it for you. When you make a message, the name of the Category is ALWAYS Messages.

THE OTHERWORLD (WIP)
[Image: k6vbdhu]

Aculy iz dolan.
07-29-2013, 09:10 PM
Find
Imevil23 Offline
Member

Posts: 83
Threads: 23
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
#3
RE: Door won't display message!

(07-29-2013, 09:10 PM)The chaser Wrote: void door(string &in asEntity)
{
if(GetSwingDoorLocked("Door1") == true)
{
SetMessage("Messages", "locked", 0);
}
}

<LANGUAGE>
<CATEGORY Name=“Messages”>
<Entry Name=“locked”>The door appears to be locked.</Entry>
</CATEGORY>
</LANGUAGE>


There, fixed it for you. When you make a message, the name of the Category is ALWAYS Messages.

Okay, so I fixed the script, but I'm still not getting anything out of this. I'll try some other things and if I manage to fix it, I'll let you know.

*EDIT* I got it working! Thanks a lot! I downloaded this lang file helper, and it showed me where the error was. I uhh... shouldn't have copy and pasted, because that screwed everything over. I'll make sure to add your name to the credits when I get this thing done!

(This post was last modified: 07-29-2013, 09:59 PM by Imevil23.)
07-29-2013, 09:30 PM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)