Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Black Plague failes to start now with error about OpenAL.
pnunn Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Threads: 1
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
#1
Solved: 5 Years, 9 Months, 1 Week ago Black Plague failes to start now with error about OpenAL.

Hi Guys,

this was working just fine until last night when I had to crash the machine (long story).

Now none of the games will start. When I try I get the following in the log file.
Quote:Initializing Sound Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Initializing OpenAL.
Trying to open audio device... FATAL ERROR: Failed! Check your OpenAL installation

The sound appears to be fine for everything else though.

Any ideas how to recover from this?

Ta

Peter.
07-26-2009, 09:08 AM
Find
Yuhaney Offline
Hello Friends!

Posts: 3,466
Threads: 100
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 64
#2
Solved: 5 Years, 9 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Black Plague failes to start now with error about OpenAL.

Try reinstalling the OpenAL.
Or the whole game.

Make sure to take your save games to safe! Wink:

07-26-2009, 11:02 AM
Website Find
pnunn Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Threads: 1
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
#3
Solved: 5 Years, 9 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Black Plague failes to start now with error about OpenAL.

I've tried reinstalling the game.. any clues as to how to reinstall OpenAL?

Peter.

(07-26-2009, 11:02 AM)Scraper Wrote: Try reinstalling the OpenAL.
Or the whole game.

Make sure to take your save games to safe! Wink:
07-26-2009, 01:23 PM
Find
Yuhaney Offline
Hello Friends!

Posts: 3,466
Threads: 100
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 64
#4
Solved: 5 Years, 9 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Black Plague failes to start now with error about OpenAL.

Hmm... To be honest, I'm not an Linux user and as a Windows user I had OpenAL on the disc of Penumbra. But you don't have disc... How did you install it the first time?

07-26-2009, 04:13 PM
Website Find
pnunn Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Threads: 1
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
#5
Solved: 5 Years, 9 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Black Plague failes to start now with error about OpenAL.

(07-26-2009, 04:13 PM)Scraper Wrote: Hmm... To be honest, I'm not an Linux user and as a Windows user I had OpenAL on the disc of Penumbra. But you don't have disc... How did you install it the first time?

The three games came in an install script. I assume it must have been in there, so tried the full re-install.. but no joy to date.

Thanks again.

P.
07-26-2009, 11:03 PM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#6
Solved: 5 Years, 9 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Black Plague failes to start now with error about OpenAL.

the actual install includes OpenAL (it's in the lib directory) the upcoming patch includes an updated OpenAL that should fix things.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
07-26-2009, 11:30 PM
Website Find
fabioamd87 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 33
Threads: 6
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 0
#7
Solved: 5 Years, 9 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Black Plague failes to start now with error about OpenAL.

do you use pulseaudio?
(I've the same issue)
07-28-2009, 01:59 PM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#8
Solved: 5 Years, 9 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Black Plague failes to start now with error about OpenAL.

I know pulse audio still sucks. It's ok for beeps and pops. and other system sounds.. You can even have it handle your music player.. but once you get to a REAL game, it completely sucks.
The new builds of the game I have are using the latest OpenALSoft openal implementation which has pulseaudio support. However on my AMD 2100+ system, the sound went to crap (popping and crackling and all that fun stuff). So... I'm working up some utilities and documentation on "configuring" openal to work better and work around pulse audio.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
07-28-2009, 02:47 PM
Website Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)