Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 5 Vote(s) - 4 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Looking For Help? Look No More!
Kyle Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 911
Threads: 36
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 7
#51
RE: Looking For Help? Look No More!

Try this:

void OnStart()
{
     SetEntityPlayerInteractCallback("earthquakenote", "OnPickup");
}
void OnPickup(string &in asEntity)
{
     SetEntityActive("doorunlock", true);
     SetEntityActive("wind", true);
     StartPlayerLookAt("wind", 2, 2, "");
     SetSwingDoorDisableAutoClose("earthquakedoor", true);
     SetSwingDoorClosed("earthquakedoor", false, true);
     AddPropForce("earthquakedoor", 0, 0, 900, "world");
     AddTimer("", 3, "Timer01");
}
void Timer01(string &in asTimer)
{
     StopPlayerLookAt();
}

08-30-2011, 06:14 PM
Find
ZRPT1 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 32
Threads: 4
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
#52
RE: Looking For Help? Look No More!

(08-30-2011, 06:14 PM)Kyle Wrote: Try this:

void OnStart()
{
     SetEntityPlayerInteractCallback("earthquakenote", "OnPickup");
}
void OnPickup(string &in asEntity)
{
     SetEntityActive("doorunlock", true);
     SetEntityActive("wind", true);
     StartPlayerLookAt("wind", 2, 2, "");
     SetSwingDoorDisableAutoClose("earthquakedoor", true);
     SetSwingDoorClosed("earthquakedoor", false, true);
     AddPropForce("earthquakedoor", 0, 0, 900, "world");
     AddTimer("", 3, "Timer01");
}
void Timer01(string &in asTimer)
{
     StopPlayerLookAt();
}

Just doing a quick runthrough of the script i noticed the "StartPlayerLookAt" Function. Im not trying to get the player to look at it DIRECTLY after picking up the note, but so that the area that activates the door opening is ACTIVE AFTER i pickup the note. It wouldn't be of any use for me to look at the door because it is in a seperate room. I just want it so that WHEN the player ends up looking in that certain area, the door that the area is connected to will open.
08-30-2011, 06:24 PM
Find
MegaScience Offline
Member

Posts: 213
Threads: 1
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 2
#53
RE: Looking For Help? Look No More!

Is there any limit to how many frames the globo animation can be? Default files have 3 digits, so is the limit 999? I want to try a full video just to try it even though I won't use it in anything in the end.
08-31-2011, 02:58 AM
Find
Kyle Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 911
Threads: 36
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 7
#54
RE: Looking For Help? Look No More!

(08-31-2011, 02:58 AM)MegaScience Wrote: Is there any limit to how many frames the globo animation can be? Default files have 3 digits, so is the limit 999? I want to try a full video just to try it even though I won't use it in anything in the end.

The funny thing is that I have nearly no idea what you're talking about, aside from animations with light gobos. xD

08-31-2011, 03:13 AM
Find
xiphirx Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 662
Threads: 16
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 5
#55
RE: Looking For Help? Look No More!

(08-31-2011, 02:58 AM)MegaScience Wrote: Is there any limit to how many frames the globo animation can be? Default files have 3 digits, so is the limit 999? I want to try a full video just to try it even though I won't use it in anything in the end.

I'd imagine you would hit an issue of processing before you find the limit Wink

08-31-2011, 03:46 AM
Find
MegaScience Offline
Member

Posts: 213
Threads: 1
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 2
#56
RE: Looking For Help? Look No More!

(08-31-2011, 03:13 AM)Kyle Wrote: The funny thing is that I have nearly no idea what you're talking about, aside from animations with light gobos. xD

Using spotlights to make frame animations like videos.

(08-31-2011, 03:46 AM)xiphirx Wrote: I'd imagine you would hit an issue of processing before you find the limit Wink

So you're saying the limit of frames might be over 999 but it might over stuff the system?
08-31-2011, 04:04 AM
Find
xiphirx Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 662
Threads: 16
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 5
#57
RE: Looking For Help? Look No More!

No, I'm saying the game will slow down to a halt before you get any video using gobos Wink

08-31-2011, 04:06 AM
Find
MegaScience Offline
Member

Posts: 213
Threads: 1
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 2
#58
RE: Looking For Help? Look No More!

(08-31-2011, 04:06 AM)xiphirx Wrote: No, I'm saying the game will slow down to a halt before you get any video using gobos Wink

Can't it be 999 frames? :o
08-31-2011, 05:00 AM
Find
xiphirx Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 662
Threads: 16
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 5
#59
RE: Looking For Help? Look No More!

What you should be asking is whether amnesia will load the map with 999 lights.

08-31-2011, 05:04 AM
Find
DRedshot Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 374
Threads: 23
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 11
#60
RE: Looking For Help? Look No More!

He's asking if you can use 999 different GOBOs on one light, you can animate the gobos with the animation feature, and set the framespeed with the number. Then you select a gobo, and every gobo with that name + _number will be included in the animation. I personally don't know the limit, but maybe you could try testing it out somehow before doing the actual thing.

- Using frames on the gobos is how you make the water gobo 'move'

- Also, I doubt anyone else has actually tested the limit before, so you will probably be the first to have to do so! Smile

(This post was last modified: 08-31-2011, 12:04 PM by DRedshot.)
08-31-2011, 11:58 AM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)