Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Light halos showing through walls
Morethanonehill Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 0
#1
Solved: 8 Years, 10 Months, 1 Week ago Light halos showing through walls

I've just started on AAMFP and am able to see light halos through walls. Apparently it was a common problem with ATDD and there's a quick fix patch but I've not been able to find anything for this one. Is there a way to fix it now or will I just need to wait?
09-10-2013, 07:33 PM
Find
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
#2
Solved: 8 Years, 10 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Light halos showing through walls

Last time it was affecting AMD cards. Do you have the latest graphics card drivers installed?
09-10-2013, 07:40 PM
Find
Morethanonehill Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 0
#3
Solved: 8 Years, 10 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Light halos showing through walls

It looks like it's the latest version but I'm still having the problem.
09-10-2013, 09:00 PM
Find
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
#4
Solved: 8 Years, 10 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Light halos showing through walls

What catalyst version do you have? After the problem occurs, attach the file HPL.log as mentioned at the troubleshooting guide, Problem X.
09-10-2013, 10:15 PM
Find
Morethanonehill Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 0
#5
Solved: 8 Years, 10 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Light halos showing through walls

I'm on my laptop now so I'll check tomorrow after work.
09-10-2013, 10:27 PM
Find
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
#6
Solved: 8 Years, 10 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Light halos showing through walls

Alright, let me know. I don't remember what that Amnesia fix did but most probably it was due to a temp drivers issue. I think it was affecting 5000 series card at the time.
09-10-2013, 10:29 PM
Find
PrettyFly Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Threads: 0
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 0
#7
Solved: 8 Years, 10 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Light halos showing through walls

I have the same problem! I see light halos through the walls aswell. It looks exactly similar as a problem that was reported 3 years ago on ATDD : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HQC9lno73ro

All my drivers were up to date when I played. My videocard is an ATI Radeon HD 5000 series.
09-11-2013, 05:28 AM
Find
Tilukonfdz Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Threads: 2
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 0
#8
Solved: 8 Years, 10 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Light halos showing through walls

I have the same probably occasionally. Just like a flicker through a wall. It doesn't really bother me much though.

My video card is AMD Radeon 6600M and 6700M Series or AMD Radeon HD 6620G.
I'm not sure which it is since under device manager it lists both of those. It might be because I have a dual monitor setup?
(This post was last modified: 09-11-2013, 05:53 AM by Tilukonfdz.)
09-11-2013, 05:51 AM
Find
PrettyFly Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Threads: 0
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 0
#9
Solved: 8 Years, 10 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Light halos showing through walls

Ok it got fixed... Weirdly enough because the steam server was down for a few minutes.

Being down, it gave me the choice of booting the game or booting the game settings. I booted the game settings offline. From there, I went to the graphic options and I pressed the "detect" button, which was meant to detect the video card. It then automatically setted everything.

I then booted the game and immediately noticed I couldnt see halos through walls anymore. Yay!
(This post was last modified: 09-11-2013, 06:06 AM by PrettyFly.)
09-11-2013, 06:06 AM
Find
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
#10
Solved: 8 Years, 10 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Light halos showing through walls

So basically it was a corrupted or wrongly-configured .cfg file under Documents\Amnesia\Pig. Thx, will keep that in mind for future reference.
09-11-2013, 11:50 AM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)