Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


ATI Fixes - Demo exe (beta)
karelchromy Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Threads: 0
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 0
#31
Solved: 6 Years, 9 Months, 1 Week ago RE: ATI Fixes - Demo exe (beta)

SnowCat Wrote:Monday?
Do you really have to recode the full game? I mean ewery map? Or why is it just done utill demo ends?

I wonder how much NVidia payed for you to f/ck up the game for ATI cards...
I doubt nVidia payed anything, it's just ATi's drivers which suck, I seriously doubt my next graphic card will be from ATi though they are good as HW, just because of their driver support.
02-21-2008, 07:49 PM
Find
SnowCat Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Threads: 0
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 0
#32
Solved: 6 Years, 9 Months, 1 Week ago RE: ATI Fixes - Demo exe (beta)

karelchromy Wrote:
SnowCat Wrote:Monday?
Do you really have to recode the full game? I mean ewery map? Or why is it just done utill demo ends?

I wonder how much NVidia payed for you to f/ck up the game for ATI cards...
I doubt nVidia payed anything, it's just ATi's drivers which suck, I seriously doubt my next graphic card will be from ATi though they are good as HW, just because of their driver support.

Yea but then how do you explain that they didnt really start fixing the Ati bug when they noticed it? they "waited for ATI to fix it in a driver"
I mean if id make a game, and it wouldnt work and i knew it i would go and fix it...
And wtf? didnt they beta test or anything?
It pisses you off that you buy a game, and it doesnt work cause you have the best hardware there is???
02-21-2008, 08:02 PM
Find
SnowCat Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Threads: 0
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 0
#33
Solved: 6 Years, 9 Months, 1 Week ago RE: ATI Fixes - Demo exe (beta)

Also now i was playing the game.
And before i got to the part where you go for the boxes in the water (as i read the forum its where demo ends) it says "FATAL ERROR, Map cannot be loaded by demo"
But i read here on the forum that they got stuck at the box part, and not before with an error (and game exiting)...
So i dont know if its a bug or not. tought id let you know... (It died before the nightmare scenes)
02-21-2008, 08:57 PM
Find
trovah Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Threads: 0
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 0
#34
Solved: 6 Years, 9 Months, 1 Week ago RE: ATI Fixes - Demo exe (beta)

This fixed the problems I got today replacing my ATI X1650PPRO with my new HD3870. I look forward to the whole fix. I have this problem in Penumbra: Overture also. Will there be a fix for it?


Thanks a gazillion times


EDIT AGAIN:

Thomas Wrote:Yup, Overture will be patched too.

I guess thats the answer to my question
02-22-2008, 08:00 PM
Find
Malice653 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Threads: 0
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 0
#35
Solved: 6 Years, 9 Months, 1 Week ago RE: ATI Fixes - Demo exe (beta)

I'm having a problem when I attempt to install the patch. Whenever I try to run the PenumbraDemo.exe I get a window saying "This application has failed to start because SDL.dll was not found. Re-installing the application may fix this problem.".
Any suggestions?
02-22-2008, 08:13 PM
Find
Thomas Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 2,634
Threads: 184
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 68
#36
Solved: 6 Years, 9 Months, 1 Week ago RE: ATI Fixes - Demo exe (beta)

Malice653:
You must have unzipped in the wrong location. Is the demo exe in the same folder as SDL.dll, Newton.dll, Penumbra.exe, etc?
02-22-2008, 09:16 PM
Find
Malice653 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Threads: 0
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 0
#37
Solved: 6 Years, 9 Months, 1 Week ago RE: ATI Fixes - Demo exe (beta)

I think I did unzip to the wrong loaction. I just unzipped to the desktop... What's the right location?
02-22-2008, 09:57 PM
Find
trovah Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Threads: 0
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 0
#38
Solved: 6 Years, 9 Months, 1 Week ago RE: ATI Fixes - Demo exe (beta)

I cannot use my flashlight anymore. Is this fix what caused it?
02-22-2008, 10:13 PM
Find
Thomas Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 2,634
Threads: 184
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 68
#39
Solved: 6 Years, 9 Months, 1 Week ago RE: ATI Fixes - Demo exe (beta)

trovah Wrote:I cannot use my flashlight anymore. Is this fix what caused it?

Its a demo limit.
02-22-2008, 10:20 PM
Find
Thomas Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 2,634
Threads: 184
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 68
#40
Solved: 6 Years, 9 Months, 1 Week ago RE: ATI Fixes - Demo exe (beta)

Malice653:

From first post:
"To install the patch simply unzip the contents to the "redist" folder, located in the installation directory. After that run "PenumbraDemo.exe"."
02-22-2008, 10:21 PM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)