plutomaniac
Super Moderator
Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation:
183
|
RE: [Help] Envy the Dead Developemt Questions/Problems
Thx, but I want my mod to consist of a folder (EtD) and a bat file (EtD.bat). Nothing more. So that if someone wants to uninstall it he can just delete two things and don't mess with anything else.
|
|
02-15-2013, 03:24 PM |
|
The chaser
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,486
Threads: 76
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation:
113
|
RE: [Help] Envy the Dead Developemt Questions/Problems
Of course: Then just:
Release a .zip which looks like this:
-EtD
-EtD.bat
Inside EtD:
entities
static_objects
Can't believe I'm helping a moderator.
THE OTHERWORLD (WIP)
Aculy iz dolan.
(This post was last modified: 02-15-2013, 04:18 PM by The chaser.)
|
|
02-15-2013, 04:18 PM |
|
plutomaniac
Super Moderator
Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation:
183
|
RE: [Help] Envy the Dead Developemt Questions/Problems
Yes, that's what I've done. The editors though cannot read from there and from the Amnesia paths. It's either static_objects or EtD/static_objects. Not both. That's the point. That's why YourComputer said that workaround that I do too.
|
|
02-15-2013, 04:24 PM |
|
The chaser
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,486
Threads: 76
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation:
113
|
RE: [Help] Envy the Dead Developemt Questions/Problems
*clears throat*
You do that when you Release it. To create the mod, put your resources (like entities in entities/EtD) and in your Isolated Full Conversion. When you release it, you just release the .bat and the EtD folder which contains all the resources you modded with
I hope that clears a bit your understanding
THE OTHERWORLD (WIP)
Aculy iz dolan.
|
|
02-15-2013, 04:32 PM |
|
plutomaniac
Super Moderator
Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation:
183
|
RE: [Help] Envy the Dead Developemt Questions/Problems
I know that too. I had forgotten why I rejected the idea. Now that I tried it again I saw why. If I do that the folders inside EtD are not appearing so I see all my custom entities in one row instead of the respectable folders. I want to see entities/EtD/lamp/custom_lamp.dae instead of a huge list of all my custom entities from the folders lamp,enemy etc... Do you understand what I mean because I might have confused you now.
(This post was last modified: 02-15-2013, 04:45 PM by plutomaniac.)
|
|
02-15-2013, 04:44 PM |
|
The chaser
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,486
Threads: 76
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation:
113
|
RE: [Help] Envy the Dead Developemt Questions/Problems
As long as you put the model and it's respective data in the EtD folder, there's nothing you should worry about, so I think you can put it however you want
THE OTHERWORLD (WIP)
Aculy iz dolan.
|
|
02-15-2013, 05:46 PM |
|
plutomaniac
Super Moderator
Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation:
183
|
RE: [Help] Envy the Dead Developemt Questions/Problems
I decided to go with what Chaser said. I put them at EtD folders and I don't care if they are mixed up. Either way, when I started I would put the randomly so...now it doesn't really matter.
|
|
02-15-2013, 05:48 PM |
|
plutomaniac
Super Moderator
Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation:
183
|
RE: [Help] Envy the Dead Developemt & Scripting Questions
Hello again, two days ago I started to learn scripting. I watched all 22 videos of YourComp and got a good idea. I am currently scripting my first map.
1) I don't seem to understand how to implement a constant check. For example, when the player picks up an item show a message. In the meantime, I want to check constantly. Yes, I tried while etc (I know C).
2) How do sounds work exactly? Sometimes, unless I put the sounds very apart the second one is not being played. For example if I write the below, the second one is not heard at all. Basically I want one sound to play after the other:
PlayGuiSound("sound1", 1);
PlayGuiSound("sound2", 1); //I also tried PlayMusic function, same result
3) Does PreloadSound help with something like performance etc...?
(This post was last modified: 03-16-2013, 12:48 AM by plutomaniac.)
|
|
03-16-2013, 12:31 AM |
|
plutomaniac
Super Moderator
Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation:
183
|
RE: [Help] Envy the Dead Developemt & Scripting Questions
Yes, thank you. I was trying to use a HasItem + an if check combination. It works great now. No1 solved.
(This post was last modified: 03-16-2013, 12:48 AM by plutomaniac.)
|
|
03-16-2013, 12:47 AM |
|
NaxEla
Senior Member
Posts: 415
Threads: 5
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation:
28
|
RE: [Help] Envy the Dead Developemt & Scripting Questions
(03-16-2013, 12:31 AM)plutomaniac Wrote: 2) How do sounds work exactly? Sometimes, unless I put the sounds very apart the second one is not being played. For example if I write the below, the second one is not heard at all. Basically I want one sound to play after the other:
PlayGuiSound("sound1", 1);
PlayGuiSound("sound2", 1); //I also tried PlayMusic function, same result
3) Does PreloadSound help with something like performance etc...?
2) By writing
PlayGuiSound("sound1", 1);
PlayGuiSound("sound2", 1);
it will play the sounds at the same time. If you want the second sound to play after the first sound finishes, you can use a timer. Add a timer so that once it reaches 0, the second sound will play. For example if the first sound was 3 seconds long:
void OnStart() { PlayGuiSound("sound1.snt", 1); //Play first sound (remember to have extension, I think .ogg works too) AddTimer("second_sound", 3.0f, "SecondSound"); //Will do SecondSound after 3 seconds }
void SecondSound(string &in asTimer) { PlayGuiSound("sound2.snt", 1); }
Don't forget that you can also use PlaySoundAtEntity if you want to play the sound at a certain entity. Using PlayGuiSound does not use 3D at all.
3) Preloading is basically to improve performance. It will load the sound/particle system before it is played so that you don't get a mini lag spike when its played/created. Here's a thread that was created not too long ago: http://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/thread-20577.html
Edit: Robosprog's code is perfectly fine, but for this situation (something happens when item is picked up), it would probably be better to use SetEntityPlayerInteractCallback. This is Robosrog's code modified:
void OnStart() { SetEntityPlayerInteractCallback("pickuptinder", "PickUpTinder, true); }
void PickUpTinder(string &in asEntity) { SetMessage("Messages", "Dialogue", 3.50); // The category, then the text entry. }
(This post was last modified: 03-16-2013, 05:26 PM by NaxEla.)
|
|
03-16-2013, 04:53 AM |
|
|